Dick Tillman Memorial Regatta Results

This years Melbourne Spring regatta, in memory of Dick Tillman, completed on April 24-25. The 24th was a seminar hosted by Kurt Taulbee (SailFit.com). Kurt gave a morning white board session touching on four key areas of Laser Racing. He talked about boat handling, racing skills, physical fitness, and of course the mental game. Then out to the boat park for a demonstration of how to position yourself in the boat and correct sitting ‘style’. The afternoon was a set of drills out on the water in strong winds (20 knots and up). A great opportunity to get some on the water coaching in heavy air!

Sunday was race day and the event had strong attendance! In addition to Lasers, there was a small group of Sunfish and large contingent of 420’s. There were 8 4.7’s, 14 Radials, and 13 full rigs. The wind was again forecasted to be strong, a westerly at 15-25 knots. The Race Committee got one race in before a squall line of thunderstorms sent the fleet back to the club. Unfortunately, by the time it rolled through the day was done. So after 1 race, the results were:

Top 3 4.7 rigs:

  1. Conor Kellett
  2. Taylor Pelchat
  3. Duncan Graham

Top 3 Radials:

  1. Kevin Gosselin
  2. William Wardlaw

Top 3 Full Rigs:

  1. Dave Chapin
  2. Humberto Porrata   
  3. Max Zhalilo

At the awards ceremony, MYC also presented their inaugural small boat sailor of the year award. In the days leading up to the event they solicited nominations from both attendees and the district in general, for people who have been long time supporters of the Laser sailing community. People that exemplify Dick’s Corinthian spirit through their joy, enthusiasm, and support for sharing our sport with others.

This year the award was presented to David Hartman. Congratulations Dave, and many thanks for your years of support to our sport!

In future years, the award will rotate to other fleets that Dick was involved with before returning to the Laser once again.

Dave Noble, MYC Commodore , announcing the Dick Tillman award